SECURE THE BORDERS!

Weekend Updates

Flag at half mast for Agent Gallagher

This just in from Concerned Citizens in Arizona:

If you would like to make a monetary donation to support the Gallagher family, donations can be made at your local Bank of America branch.  Please reference the information below when making your donation.

Samantha L. Gallagher

Account # 457021168286

Border update 4SEP-11SEP10

Man, I must be getting old and lazy.  These entries are getting harder and harder to write.  And, I’m frustrated with trying to learn WordPress,  as the old blog at http://charlieuno.vox.com/ was a lot easier to manage.  It’s still up but will completely go down as Vox closes on 30SEP10.  After 15SEP10 I will no longer be able to post there. C’est la vie.  The only thing constant is change.

I exported all the entries from http://charlieuno.vox.com/ but as you can see the embeds and videos did not make it to WordPress and the photos are much smaller than I would like them to be.  I am unsure how to rectify this other than uploading all the pics over again.  That’s much too time and labor intensive.  If anyone of you have any ideas on how to resize  the old pics without distortion please feel free to e-mail me.  You can find my e-mail address by clicking on the “about” button in the upper right corner of this blog.

Saturday 4SEP10

Infidel and I met Red Army and Golf 1 in the Campo area in search of some new men interested in doing independent border duty.  Somehow signals got crossed and the rendezvous never happened.  Still we patrolled the line, chatted with many BP agents and had a good meeting in the shade of Bell Valley where infidel and I got Red Army and Golf 1 caught up on recent events they had heretofore not been privy to.

Then we adjourned to the range for a brief bit of training and target practice.

We all left for home shortly thereafter.

Saturday 11SEP10 -9/11-Patriot Day

My self and the Patriots I have worked with remembered 9/11 in a variety of ways:

There was a flag raising ceremony at noon at the Red Rocks area of the California Border on 9/11.  It was sponsored by BPAUX and MCCI and was also a reunion of sorts for the many Minutemen who began working the area since 2005. Pics are courtesy of Jeff Schwilk and the San Diego Minutemen:

The boys from U.S. Evolutions did work in Arizona on that day.  Below is their AAR, edited somewhat for security purposes along with a few pics:

Saturday 9/11/10

Smuggling traffic is San Diego Sector has been drastically reduced over all due to several miles of recently installed fence and increased efforts by Border Patrol to detain and prosecute criminals.  Traffic in southeast Arizona has in contrast been literally out of control.  We scouted one of the busier regions south of Interstate 8 east of Gila Bend, AZ.  Sign from foot traffic was mostly several months old, though recent vehicle traffic was heavy.  Reports from local Border Patrol indicate drug smugglers have been driving vehicle loads of narcotics through the desert there nightly.  High points in the surrounding area are manned by smuggling scout who help detect law enforcement activity and direct load vehicle drivers.  As daytime temperatures decrease, foot traffic will likely return.  Older sign from narcotics being loaded into vehicle at Interstate 8 was abundant.  Smugglers use foam coolers wrapped with burlap to back pack marijuana to the highway.  The packs are cut open and quickly loaded at prearranged locations, in many cases mile markers on the highway.


All images copyright U.S. Evolutions, Inc.

I arrived at Camp Vigilance about 1830 on Friday 10SEP10.  After performing some routine maintenance on, in and around Godzilla, the historic old battlewagon that has been passed from minuteman to minuteman, and now serves as my “casa de la frontera”, I set out for the border.

2030- I arrived on the G road on the west side of Forrest Gate near Campo, California.  This area has undergone major changes and security upgrades since I first worked the area in April 2006.  But I guess some things never change. After I geared up I rolled west and got on the old frequency for a radio check.  I sort of half expected a reply from an oldtimer or two who might have been down for the 9/11 weekend but the reply I received was anything but expected:

“Any station, Charlie 1, radio check, ” I said

“Lil Dog, Patriot Point, I read you loud and clear,” was the response!

WHAT???  I felt like I had gone back in time.  Lil Dog had left the Point over a year ago and rumor was there was a warrant out for his arrest.  In the course of our reunion atop Patriot Point, under the lights of a new Border Patrol sky tower in place there now, he assured me that no such warrant existed and he had, in fact spoken with sheriff’s deputies who ran is ID and pronounced him clean. However, I am in possession of what appears to be case information from Ventura County to the contrary.  My inexperience with WordPress, coupled with an unfamiliar and seemingly incompatible format prohibits me from posting said document regarding case #2009033305 which was obtained from the Ventura County Superior Courts website by several people and e-mailed to me.  The website also has the following disclaimer:

The information provided on and obtained from this site does not constitute the official record of the Court. This information is provided as a service to the general public. Any user of this information is hereby advised that it is being provided “as is”. The information provided may be subject to errors or omissions. Visitors to this site agree that the Court is not liable for errors or omissions of any of the information provided.

Believe what you want to believe, but he and I, along with Merlin and Freckles, had a good visit, reminisced about old times on the border and together marveled and the many new lights, cameras, scope pads, National Guard troops and new agents up and down the line. More than once Lil Dog announced, “we did this gentlemen!”  And, like it or not, he is right.  The tireless efforts of many a dedicated civilian border observer helped bring attention to the area and was a catalyst for the addition of all the many new security upgrades in that area and other areas along the border.  As mentioned above in the U. S, Evo after action report.  Smuggling in that sector has been drastically reduced.

We all deserve to pat each other on the back, but let’s not forget we owe, at least in the area west of the PCT, a large debt of gratitude to Agent Kyle Krall of the United States Border Patrol, who’s rank escapes me but who is in charge of tactical infrastructure in our old AO.  Good Job Agent Krall!

I left the Point around midnight and headed back to Camp V for a solid nights rest in anticipation of a long planned for training day on 9/11

Saturday 11SEP10

I arrived at the site of the training not too far from the border and met with fellow Patriots.

Our highly skilled, volunteer instructors put us through our paces.

We worked with pistols, rifles, and transitions to and from both.

We honed our skills at tactical and speed reloading and did failure and Mozambique drills.

Even did a little sniper practice.

The pics I took do not do the training justice and even if they did I am unwilling to post them all as the enemy need not know all our tactics.

In between drills we rested in the shade, swapped war stories, traded insults, and planned future ops, all the while marveling at Infidel’s unbridled ability to bullshit.  These men are my brothers and they love this country more than any men I have ever known.  I am humbled and honored to be included in their midst.

After training day concluded we headed over to Camp Vigilance to see how the flag raising went, visit with old friends and meet Patriots face to face that we had only heard of in stories and e-mails.  Carl Braun, longtime border observer, writer and BPAUX founder called an assembly of all Patriots on hand.

He to regaled us with tales about a lot of the men and women there and then began to hand out awards. To my surprise and amazement I received a Certificate of Honorable Service.  I’d be lying if I said I was speechless, you that know me know that’s seldom the case, but again I was humbled and honored to receive such unexpected recognition.  I pray I can live up to it.

And the only way I know to live up to it is to continue with the commitment I made at the PCT in Campo way back in April of 2006: To spend a minimum of one weekend a month on the border as extra eyes and ears for the Border Patrol and local law enforcement.  Together we have made much progress.  But the job is far from finished. Your country needs you now more than ever!  What will you do to help?  Wherever you are, however you help, know that your efforts are not wasted, we are in this for the long haul, as are our nation’s enemies.

I hope to meet you some day on a rugged smugglers path, defending the borders and the Constitution, but if we don’t, know that I shall be with you in the Spirit of America. Thanks for your support.

God Bless You and God Bless the United States of America!

Semper Vigilans,

C1

I’ll be back……………

One response

  1. Bonfire

    Great blog C1.

    “Lil Dog, Patriot Point, I read you loud and clear,” was the response! … reminisced and assured me.

    LMAO.

    September 17, 2010 at 10:02

Leave a Reply

