SECURE THE BORDERS!

Border update: Summer Vacation 2010 and Travel Advisory

“You can never have too much reconnaissance.”-General George S. Patton Jr., War As I Knew It, 1947

 These updates are getting harder and harder for me to write.  While I must acknowledge my own laziness has a part in it, it is also true that it is just getting too dangerous to include all the details of my border work.  Dangerous for me, as well as for other dedicated independent operators engaged in voluntarily helping the Border Patrol and other law enforcement agencies in the business of securing the homeland and stemming the tide of illegal drug and human smuggling across our porous southern frontier.  As the means and tactics of the Patriots I work with have definitely become more effective, the actions of the enemy have become ever more desperate and heinous. WARNING: THE PHOTOS PRESENTED IN THE SLIDE SHOW BELOW ARE VERY GRAPHIC!

Therefore, this report may not be as thorough, or as date linear as my AAR’s of the past. More specific details will be given on a need to know basis to those involved through other and more secure means of communication.

This trip wasn’t all work.  It was, after all, our vacation.  With my K9 riding shotgun in the Unomobile we headed for my home state of Texas toward the end of July, grateful for the opportunity to leave the Deteriorating Peoples Republic of California, if only a couple of weeks.  Coming and going we worked the border in various areas, probing security on our own as well as working with, and obtaining intel for, various civilian volunteer units across the desert southwest. We also stopped at many “free world” gun shops in Texas and Arizona. 

And, of course, while in El Paso, we visited the Border Patrol Museum.

The curator, Mrs. Tisdale, is the widow of former Assistant Chief Patrol Agent Gerald Tisdale. Mr. Tisdale was one of the founders and director of the Border Patrol National Canine Facility until his retirement in El Paso, Texas in 1995. Needless to say Hot Shot and I were glad to see her again and I think the feeling was mutual.

 

 PUBLIC SERVICE ANNOUNCEMENTA word of caution: If you are traveling across Arizona on the I-8 and are not prepared to defend yourself and your family DO NOT STOP FOR ANY REASON OTHER THAN A REAL EMERGENCY BETWEEN GILA BEND AND THE I-8/84 INTERCHANGE!

Arizona DPS– Main Switchboard: (602)-223-2000 or 911

Maricopa County Sheriff’s Office, Gila Bend substation: (602) 876-1870 or 911

Pinal County Sheriff’s Office: 800-420-8689 or 911

Border Patrol Ajo Station: (520) 387-7002

 This area, though well north of the border, is an active drug smuggling corridor. The drug cartels have men in the area 24/7.  They have staging areas, complete with communication centers, observation and re-supply outposts in the desert south of the I-8 in that area.  People working with the cartels drop food and water off on the side of the highway and men come up from the desert to retrieve it.

They take it back to staging areas where the smugglers and the drugs await.  Then, when whatever nighttime cue is given, they take bales of marijuana, methamphetamine and other drugs up to the mile markers on the highway where a vehicle awaits to pick up the load. 

This is not special intel I am privy to, it is common knowledge to those in the area. One only has to walk the sides of the interstate and see for your self. 

ALL of the litter in that area of the I-8 is drug related.  On this trip I even found a bag of weed!

(which of course i left alone and notified authorities of)

The sheer volume of the drug detritus is incredible and though I have seen it many times it never fails to amaze me.  I hope the photos here can give you some sense of the magnitude.

Now this might not make me a popular guy, but I do believe we all bare some responsibility.  If so many people were not using these mind altering chemicals, and yes, delta 9-tetrahydrocannibinol (THC), the active ingredient in marijuana, is a dangerous mind altering chemical, then this smuggling would not be taking place.  If you are unable to work the border with us or cannot donate to our cause, then work in your communities to further drug prevention programs for our youth.  Or volunteer at a drug treatment center.  Hell, take a kid fishing!  Anything you can do to help stop or prevent drug abuse and drug addiction will help.  My e-mail contact link is  on the top right corner of this blog.  I’ll be glad to assist you with ideas on how you can help, or to guide you to where you can get help yourself if need be. If you are not part of the solution then you are part of the problem.

"All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is that good men do nothing." -Edmund Burke

 

The “MinuteMutt” and I traversed the southern border states but were unable, due to time and financial constraints, to get to all the areas we had hoped to see, such as Cochise County, Arizona.  We did see some odd and interesting sights along the way.

In Texas we hit a Texas sized pothole in the highway doing 80MPH (that’s the speed limit in God’s Country) and smegmatized the entire rack and pinion unit in the Unomobile. 

This subsequently cause the power steering pump to fry and we drove about two miles to the next exit at considerably slower speeds and with virtually no steering to speak of.  Luckily there was good mechanic nearby and I had close family in the vicinity.  We were dead in the water for almost a week, but were treated to Texas hospitality and home cookin’ that couldn’t be beat.  My trusty K9 companion got thoroughly spoiled (As if he wasn’t already) as did I.

In that week I gained several pounds while spending $1400.00 on my vehicle which I hadn’t planned on. We also did some shooting and again, through the hospitality of good fellow Texans, got to sample some weapons we are not allowed to have in California such as the Taurus Judge and the Ruger LCP .380.

What part of "shall not be infringed" do you not understand??

But with the truck repaired we were soon on the road again.

We decided to poke around Laredo in the area where reportedly Los Zetas had taken over a ranch or two on or about June 23rd. (see several earlier reports on this blog)

Below is a reprint of an e-mail I sent to my concerned citizens list regarding my time in the Laredo area, I have added the accompanying photos, which were not in the original e-mail.

I poked around that area in Laredo yesterday morning.

Drove south as far as I could on all the roads in the vicinity.  Most are gated and posted.

 

The Border Patrol agents I talked to (and they were the only two I saw the whole three hours I probed the border) said they had heard of the incident but could not confirm or deny that it actually happened.

None of the locals in that area, including a family that was driving out of Minerales Rd while I was driving in, claimed to have heard anything about it. Granted, I might have spooked them a little.

BUT….While I was driving out El Pico Rd, having been all the way to the end of it and turned around, I met a woman who was on her way to take care of her horse which she kept at a nearby ranch.  She seemed delighted that I would ask her about the incident, as if no one had.  She happened to be coming back from a trail ride on her horse on the day in question and said she saw an enormous amount of law enforcement coming out of Minerales Rd and in the general area.  She named Border Patrol, Sheriff Dept, Laredo PD and Texas DPS.

Hard to keep that a secret.

 I finally found a road that led me all the way to the river without having to trespass. Phelps Road meanders down through various gravel pits and skirts the river in places.  I drove around for at least an hour back there and got out several times and walked the banks of the Rio Grande.

I saw no LEO or BP the whole time I probed the river bottom, or Zetas for that matter.  The BP agents I mentioned speaking to above were down by the 255 toll road, well north and west of the incident area.

 

Almost at the same time I was cruising the area in Laredo Kimberly Dvorak, one of the original people who broke the story about the incursion, managed somehow to obtain a copy of the Laredo police blotter regarding the incident.

 

Security in the Fabens, Texas area was considerably heavier than in the Mines rd area of Laredo, Texas.  I drove south from the I-10 into Fabens and beyond.

There on the border there is a fence on the north side of the Rio Grande.  There is a road south of the fence where BP patrols north of the river.

We got out and looked through the fence and in no time were joined by an agent on the other side.

I told him what we were doing and the kind of work I did and that we would be departing directly. Immediately upon getting back in the truck I noticed a dust cloud coming my way from the east.  Another agent intersected me and I pulled over without being asked.  Again I told him of my work on the border and then we were quickly joined by yet another agent! Three trucks with three BP agents descending on me in less than ten minutes, with a fence and a river to boot.  Now that’s how the border should be secured.

 In Laredo the meandering of the river and the number of private property owners with river front land makes a fence a difficult proposition. To me this speaks to the need for more agents as well as heavy electronic surveillance.  My dog and I drove around the river in Laredo and got out and walked the bank for a good hour without so much as one agent checking us out.

  Or anybody else for that matter.  Had we been inclined to consort with the enemy we could have easily picked up illegal aliens or contraband and trafficked it out of the area.

The only Border Patrol agents we saw pulled up behind us as we stopped at the intersection of the 255 toll road and 1472 to consult the map.

They had only stopped because they noticed the BP style sign cutting light on the side of the Unomobile and were curious as to why a civilian would have such an apparatus. They were delighted with my explanation.

 I stopped at numerous BP checkpoints along the way and had many good conversations with the agents on the job.

In California, at a checkpoint west of Yuma, the agents there expressed their boredom.  The new fence in the Imperial Sand Dunes recreational area where Senior Patrol Agent Luis Aguilar was murdered in 2008 is working well and illegal activity is at an all time low. 

This is the goal and while a fence is not the sole or ultimate solution it works well the majority of the time and should be an integral part of homeland security. Of course, if you cut holes in it for “drainage” as they are doing in the Jacumba area of California it kind of defeats the purpose…..

At a BP checkpoint just west of the Pecos River in Texas, where there is no such fence and only the river, BP agents were not so bored and reported regular incursions.

In Arizona, while patrolling Vekol Rd, a BLM ranger came up from the south and confirmed what I already knew: That the area was a hotbed of illegal activity and he recommended that we should be careful, armed and vigilant. 

This area is approximately 80 miles north of the border and just north of the Tohono O’odham Indian reservation. 

The drug cartels work that area freely and apparently with much cooperation from individuals on the res.  Perhaps in that area a border fence would be more effective around that ”sovereign nation” than on the US/Mexico border itself.

Homeland Security Secretary Janet Napolitano has said that border security is better now than it has ever been and I hate to admit it but she is correct. But to paraphrase Voltaire,  “the better is often the enemy of the best.” Just because security is beefed up in some areas more than it has ever been doesn’t mean we can rest satisfied on our laurels.  There is much work to be done and the “enemy without” is constantly probing our defenses and taking advantage of our continued weakness.

The “enemy within” facilitates this and is a much more difficult adversary to detect and deal with. Marcus Tulliius Cicero said it best:

"A nation can survive its fools, and even the ambitious. But it cannot survive treason from within. An enemy at the gates is less formidable, for he is known and carries his banner openly. But the traitor moves amongst those within the gate freely, his sly whispers rustling through all the alleys, heard in the very halls of government itself. For the traitor appears not a traitor; he speaks in accents familiar to his victims, and he wears their face and their arguments, he appeals to the baseness that lies deep in the hearts of all men. He rots the soul of a nation, he works secretly and unknown in the night to undermine the pillars of the city, he infects the body politic so that it can no longer resist. A murderer is less to fear. The traitor is the plague."

I hope many such traitors will be voted out in November.

 In August of 2005 I took my first foray to the border.  I did not go again until April 2006.  Since June 2006 I have been committed to being on the border at least one weekend a month and have done so without fail, usually spending even more time than that.  I understand that all of you cannot make such a commitment either due to proximity or physical disabilities.  But there is much you can do to help. Because of certain charlatans masquerading as “minutemen” who have picked the pockets of well meaning patriots, with none of the money making it to border operations, I rarely ask for donations.  I am going broke doing this work on the border and do so gladly.  I feel it is the very least I can do for my country and constitution. But any donations you care to send me I will gratefully accept and will spread among the many patriots I work with.  If you are as uncomfortable sending money as I am asking for it then feel free to send radios, batteries, night vision devices, thermal imaging systems, trail cameras, ammunition, gas cards, etc.  Feel free to contact me at c1cmmp@yahoo.com if you have any questions about donations or operations.  And please, if you need help with your own drug abuse or addiction do not hesitate to contact me for help. You owe it to yourself to get help but know that you will also be helping your country in doing so.

 If I don’t hear from you via e-mail, meet you at the ballot box or on a dusty border trail, rest assured that I shall be with you in the Fellowship of the True Spirit of America.

God Bless y’all and God Bless The United States of America.

Semper Vigilans,

C1

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

2 responses

  1. Just DISGUSTING!!!!!!! God be with you.

    August 15, 2010 at 16:05

  2. You know what? The ONLY reason the borders are 'more secure' is because regular average joes are putting their lives on the line. I am so SICK of this invasion of scum. It makes me wanna PUKE. One day, after we are so broke and there is no more $$, people that will protect this once great nation will be doing it because there will be no police. I'll be there. Count on it. I wont shed a damned tear if I have to do what I have to do.
    Illegal=LAW BREAKER.

    August 16, 2010 at 11:48

Leave a Reply

