SECURE THE BORDERS!

Border Update 23JUL10- A Memorial For Two American Heros

Friday 23JUL10

 

I left the C1 compound at 1000 headed for the United States/Mexican border in beautiful southeast San Diego County, in the Deteriorating People's Republic of California.  In the weeks before, many Patriots had converged on the border on various weekends to honor slain Border Patrol Agent Robert Rosas. On the weekend of the first such event this summer I was in Arizona doing recon and was unable to attend.  It happened on 26JUN10 when The Tecate Border Volunteers, in conjunction with San Diego Minutemen and The Border Patrol Auxiliary, met near Campo, California and planted a tree in Honor of Agent Rosas.

Many locals attended as well as did staunch Patriot, long time secure border advocate and California candidate for governor Chelene Nightengale, the only real conservative in the race.

In addition to the tree planting ceremony a surprise and well-deserved award was given to our friend, border watch partner and supporter known to those who read these pages as Horsepuckies.

No award is sufficient for all that this man has done for the movement and his country.  I was sorry I was not able to attend.

 On 10JUL10 the Second Annual Robert Rosas Memorial Border run was held.  I made the first run last year and had a great time, but this year my job and other unfortunate events, kept me from attending.

On this day Friday, 23JUL10, the one-year anniversary of the brutal slaying of Agent Rosas and what would’ve been the 101st birthday of my friend and Medal of Honor Recipient John Finn, my intent was to travel to the border and pay my respects.

But first I had work to do.

I do not take my activities as an Independent Operator lightly and, though I am a volunteer, I believe training for the job is important. 23JUL10 was a scheduled re-qualification day for one of the several permits and licenses I carry.  So it was off to the academy to take the written test and then do the requal shoot.

I found it interesting that the California BSIS requires that this test be given ONLY IN ENGLISH and that no interpreter is allowed!

I think we found one thing the state of California does right, for now anyway.

I passed the written and shootings tests with flying colors and then hit the highway.

But before heading to the border I diverted to El Centro, California to the Evergreen Cemetery where Agent Rosas is buried.

I paid my respects and laid some white sage on his grave,which I had previously picked at the border on the side of hill 241.

Then I headed to Tierra Del Sol.

By 1545 I was entering the border road at Red Shank. 

As you can imagine there was much Border Patrol activity.  There was also a surprising amount of activity on the south, including a blue pickup that had backed up to the fence just east of the Rosas Cross. 

He must have seen that I, as well as a Border Patrol agent, had glass on him and he sped off.

Then, as I crested the hill east of the Memorial site, I noticed that there was another vehicle in Mexico behind the fence directly across from the Rosas Memorial.

He was to far off to identify so I informed the next agent I saw and he told me that it was Mexican Military doing security on the south side.  I’m sure we all feel much better knowing that……….(sarcasm intended)

Then I stopped at the cross where a large number of BP and ICE agents were gathered.

I visited briefly with them, as well as with FN9 who had been there all day, paid my respects at the cross,

then I pressed on to the west.

I made it to the tree that was planted in Agent Rosas’ honor about 1700 and drained the contents of my canteen on it.

Shortly after that I was joined at the Grassy Knoll by my old friend and Original Minuteman “36”.  While we sat on the truck's tailgate and had a meeting we were joined to the south by a truckload of Tecate PD who appeared to have a tailgate meeting of their own.

Then we watched as several of them took off own foot, apparently tracking someone or looking for something.

 After 36 and I finished solving the world’s problems, he left the area and, after a short phone conversation with Horsepuckies I left the border road as well.

I had one more thing to do before heading home.

I ventured to the Tribal Hall area of the Campo Indian Reservation and found the cemetery.

There, behind the old church, was the graveyard and final resting place of John Finn, who, up until his passing, was our nation’s oldest living Congressional Medal Of Honor recipient.

I paid my respects and laid a bundle of the local white sage at his grave, then headed for home.

I am so blessed to have met and worked with many Patriots since I began my border missions in August of 2005.  Imagine how many more are out there, willing to do whatever it takes to protect this great nation and it’s constitution from all enemies, foreign and domestic. Will you stand with them?  Can you support us?  This country needs you more than ever. Freedom and Liberty takes WORK. If you are not sure how you can help please e-mail me at the contact link in the above right corner of this page.

“Those who expect to reap the blessings of freedom, must, like men, undergo the fatigue of supporting it”.  ~Thomas Paine

Thank you for supporting your country and for taking the time to read and support this blog.  I hope to meet up with you someday on a dusty desert trail, but if not, I shall be with you in the fellowship of the Spirit of America.

God Bless y’all and God Bless the United States of America.

Semper Vigilans,

C1

"We on this continent should never forget that men first crossed the Atlantic not to find soil for their ploughs but to secure liberty for their souls."  ~Robert J. McCracken

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Leave a Reply

