SECURE THE BORDERS!

Weekend update 13-15MAR09

This is an only marginally security related post. Guest After Action Reports from our crews on the border will follow shortly.
Semper Vi,
C1

This is a non-border weekend update.  Friday afternoon I made a rare appearance at a rally of sorts.  It was a party for the local kickoff of Glen Beck’s “912 Project-“We Surround Them”.  I had heard of the project but was unaware of the local party until a friend I had met on the border, one of the original Minutewomen, informed me of the event and venue.  There was a pretty good turnout, mostly older folks disturbed by the current bunch in Washington and the agenda they intend to ram down the majority of Americans throats.


 I was honored to sit at the table with three women who attended the first Minuteman muster in Arizona in April 2005.  They and the others like them inspired and motivated me to begin my own mission in August of 2005.


 Saturday Hot Shot and I went for a hike.  Hot Shot is getting fat, having takin’ a liking to having a real home.  Myself I like to try to stay in shape so I can continue to hike up the 241 with full gear and body armor on.
 We set off for the mountains in search of an oasis in a canyon I had been to many years prior.  It was a beautiful day and Hot Shot was happy to be out in nature.


 I haven’t taken him with me to the border on the past two missions, once because I was borrowing U.S. Evo’s thermal equipment and once because I took my scooter.  Next time I go I will be takin’ the MinuteMutt because he loves it and has alerted me to illegal intrusions on more than one occasion.
We climbed a steep trail for about 45 minutes and then began our descent into the canyon.


At the bottom we stopped to rest under a curious sign someone had erected.


 It seemed an opportune time to rest and have a drink.


 Then we headed back up the trail and then down the mountain.


Sunday was spent exercising my second amendment rights while we still can.  I tried out a variety of weapons including an old,  single shot .410 “snakecharmer.”


I also took my Universal M1 Carbine, which I have refinished with multicolored textured paint to give it an oxidized metallic appearance.  I also mounted a picatinny rail on the right side to facilitate mounting a light. Say what you will about these old cheap carbine copies, this one is a tack driver!


I also practiced some of the skills I learned in the shogun class I took last week, focusing this time on transitioning from shotgun to pistol.  I was using a thumb break holster, hence the slight hesitation on the draw.  If you look closely too you can see that two shells fell out of my side saddle on the transition.


 Suarez is not a fan of the side saddle, largely due to added weight and bulk.  He warned of accidental loss of ammo from them but this is the first time it happened to me.  I am considering taking the side saddle off, not only for the above mentioned reasons, but also because it hides the serial number.  When I was pulled over on my last mission (see post below) it looked for a time that the Sheriff’s Deputy might make me disassemble the weapon.
As we packed up our gear we noticed we were being observed by a large Chuckwalla who didn’t seem the least bit scared of us a politely posed for pics.
I hope to be back on the border by the end of the month or the beginning of the next.  In the mean time please stay vigilant.
C1

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

2 responses

  1. J J

    Charlie, If you ever get a chance to view the tape by John Shaw on combat shotgun, watch it. He is unbelievable. You may pick up a few pointers. The whole secret is knowing your pattern size at different ranges, as I'm sure you already know. I think Shaw was a big time shotgun competition shooter in the 70's and 80's. It's well worth the watch if you can rent or buy his tape. It was on old VHS tape when I saw it. I loaned it to someone, and you can guess the rest. Good report again C-1, and don't spoil that old dog too much!J J

    March 17, 2009 at 04:20

  2. Thanks JJ, I'll google around and see if I can find it. I like those pics at your page. Hope to see you this summer.C1

    March 17, 2009 at 06:19

Leave a Reply

