SECURE THE BORDERS!

Border update 20-21FEB09

0945-Left the C1 compound


1225-Arrived at Camp Vigilance and began to unload and prep Godzilla for sleeping quarters. After unloading my XR400 I took off west on 94 for the line at Campo.


 But barely a mile down the road I saw my old friend 36, easily recognizable in his distinctive vehicle, heading east on 94.  I pointed at him to flag him down then mad a quick u-turn.  36 pulled off to the side and I pulled up behind him and dismounted.  Jokingly I hollered, “Let me see your driver’s license.” 36, still in his vehicle began to roll slowly and it looked as if he was reaching for something. It dawned on me that he had never seen me on my bike and I still had my helmet on so he could not recognize me.  Not wanting him to leave, or worse, shoot me, I identified myself.  36 got out of his truck and at first I was unsure if he was going to shake my hand or beat the livin’ shit out of me.


 We bullshitted for a few minutes on the side of the road.  He was on his way to deploy with U.S. Evolutions and so we parted company. I received info later that the US Evo boys had some success in their area of deployment.  I am not going to post their AAR, as it is being scrutinized by intelligence agents.  I did receive authorization to post a few of their photos, which I have included below.


By 1425 I was at the PCT. Then I moved below Patriot Point to gaze with respect at the new flag some patriots had flown as replacement for the weather beaten banner I had seen on my last trip. Special thanks to whoever took it upon themselves to do this.


1450-Zuellner’s High Point.  I was the only man on our side of the line except for a lone BP agent parked at the base of the Cap Rock. I atyed at ZHP for about 15 minutes, viewing the 241, Cap Rock and the expanse between the two peaks.  I saw nothing. It was a beautiful day for a moto patrol.


1515-I repositioned to the Donut Hole. I detected no activity and so I headed back to Camp V via the border road all the way to Red Shank and on through Tierra del Sol.
1700- At Camp V the Border Patrol Auxiliary (BPAUX) musters at least once a month and I was fortunate to have one of their musters correspond with a free weekend of mine.  They rang the dinner bell at 1700 and had, what I would estimate to be a feast.  Not what I am used to when serving on the border.  I tend to snack off and on when I am working the border, saving any larger repast for directly before a dedicated sleep interval.
 I resisted eating at first but Fidelis had cooked up such a mess of tasty burgers that I had to have one.  Then the BPAUX team leaders had a pre-deployment meeting.  Their scouts had seen evidence of recent entry in the area known as the Red Rocks.  That was to be our area to observe and I was assigned to the 3 man team relieving the 2000-0200 shift.  We were to be in the radio shack at 0100 and would be transported to a spot about a half a mile away from Red Rocks where we would hike the rest of the way in.
1930- I retired to Godzilla
21FEB09
0100- Met in the Radio shack in full BPAUX uniform (over three layers of thermals, class IIIA body armor and with a heavy coat on top and back pack)


0130- We were dropped off where Jewel Valley road ends at the old border fence. Hiking in we worked up quite a sweat and also missed the trail to the rocks at some point.  I reckon we sounded like a herd of elephants and any groups of illegals in the area no doubt new of our arrival.  I like to catch them as well as anyone, but being a deterrent suits me almost as well.  I have no doubt we were a deterrent.  
 The crew we relieved took off I was posted in the rocks where I could view the Red Rocks to the east and the border to the south.  Another member to the area to the north while the third of our team observed the west toward Boundary Peak and the southwest.  We stayed there all night and it was cold and lacking action.  There was no wind and it seemed to me that even the slightest move I made was amplified and echoed far and wide.  One would think it no small wonder no one attempt to penetrate a position so obviously guarded.  But this is often not the case as in my years working the border I have groups both large and small run directly in front of me, knowing I was there.  Desperation appears to be a larger factor than logic at times.


Our watch ended we departed to the north where we were extracted on the gun club road and replaced by a two man team. 


We headed back to camp where I stripped off my sweaty thermals and body armor, skipped the large BPAUX breakfast, chowed down on some beef jerky and retired to the back of Godzilla where I slept until noon.
1300- We were supposed to have an ATV patrol which failed to materialize.  I opted for another solo moto patrol.  First I headed to the Horsepuckies spread, visited with the man and picked up my magnetic Mountain Minuteman vehicle insignia.


 Then I headed for the line at Campo.
  I met Bravo2 at patriot Point.  He had been on a solo patrol of his own and had detected no activity except for three men who went BTM across the grassy knoll.  As we talked we watched the men walk southwest toward the Ranchita.  In the mean time two BPAUX agents had taken up position at the couch trail.  Bravo 2 left to meet with Horsepuckies and I rode down to visit with the BPAUX agents.  Several BP agents were in the area to the west.  I drove down to the 127 and met with a BP agent there.  He informed me that he had just surprised a small group who attempted to enter where the old fence terminates at the west slope of the 241.  They fled BTM the same way.
I motored to the Donut Hole for about fifteen minutes, then went back to the Couch trail.  The BPAUX agents were observing two spotters on the side of the hill in Mexico across from the 5 Star.  More elements of BPAUX were planning to deploy to the area that evening.  I set off to the east on solo patrol. On the border road between La Gloria and Smith canyons I came upon a highly unusual sight.  It was a man and a woman on Harley big twin!  I have seen a lot of different vehicles on the border but never a big Harley! I visited with them for a few minutes.  They had entered the border road at Red Shank, Tierra Del Sol, where I was planning to exit.  I regret not getting their photo.
 On the other side of Smith I stopped and visited with Kingfish, of the Campo Minutemen, who had not been in his position when I had passed by there the day before.  He told of action earlier in the day and the photos below are his.


  It seems two men had climbed up on the fence south of his position.  Kingfish called BP who responded immediately. 


After BP left a group of men the two on the fence had no doubt meant to direct, fled BTM.  Good job Kingfish.
I left the border area and headed back down the border road east to Red Shank and back to Camp V through Tierra Del Sol.  I returned to Camp V in time to see the Border Patrol come to pick up a hapless illegal alien who wandered into the compound.  The BPAUX agents fed and watered the Mexican national and BP hauled him away.
BPAUX had on their agenda for the night a stake out of the tank trap.


 I have yet to receive any word of if they followed through with any success.
March is a busy month for me. 2MAR1836 was Texas Independence day.  I am inspired by many of the words and ideas in my home state’s Declaration of Independence, words that ring true to this day:  

When a government has ceased to protect the lives, liberty and property of the people, from whom its legitimate powers are derived, and for the advancement of whose happiness it was instituted, and so far from being a guarantee for the enjoyment of those inestimable and inalienable rights, becomes an instrument in the hands of evil rulers for their oppression.

When the Federal Republican Constitution of their country, which they have sworn to support, no longer has a substantial existence, and the whole nature of their government has been forcibly changed, without their consent, from a restricted federative republic, composed of sovereign states, to a consolidated central military despotism, in which every interest is disregarded but that of the army and the priesthood, both the eternal enemies of civil liberty, the everready minions of power, and the usual instruments of tyrants.

When, long after the spirit of the constitution has departed, moderation is at length so far lost by those in power, that even the semblance of freedom is removed, and the forms themselves of the constitution discontinued, and so far from their petitions and remonstrances being regarded, the agents who bear them are thrown into dungeons, and mercenary armies sent forth to force a new government upon them at the point of the bayonet.

When, in consequence of such acts of malfeasance and abdication on the part of the government, anarchy prevails, and civil society is dissolved into its original elements. In such a crisis, the first law of nature, the right of self-preservation, the inherent and inalienable rights of the people to appeal to first principles, and take their political affairs into their own hands in extreme cases, enjoins it as a right towards themselves, and a sacred obligation to their posterity, to abolish such government, and create another in its stead, calculated to rescue them from impending dangers, and to secure their future welfare and happiness.

I think these, the first four paragraphs of the Texas Declaration of Independence, at the time referring to the government of Mexico, could, for the most part, easily be about our own federal government today.  As Ronald Reagan said,
Government is not the solution to our problems, government is the problem.”
  On 2MAR I will begin nine week, once weekly Community Police Academy at a local agency.
 I will remember the Alamo (6MAR1836)


by honing my gunfighting skills by taking a shotgun class in LA with Suarez International.
 
 My work is extremely hectic this time of year and I may not return to the border until mid-April.  Don’t let that stop you though.  Do your part to protect the homeland and the Constitution from all enemies foreign and domestic.  These days there appears to be an abundance of both.
Semper Vigilans,
C1
The nine most terrifying words in the English language are, 'I'm from the government and I'm here to help.”-Ronald Reagan

Order ADIOS gear here: www.cafepress.com/gruposvete
Order C1 gear here: www.cafepress.com/charlieuno

Thanks for your support!

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

One response

  1. J J

    Charlie, As usual my hat is off to you, Kingfish, 36, weasel, and all the others who patrol on the Ca./Mex line near Campo. It's nice that you can combine a service to your country, with a little adventure at the same time. The hardships such service entails (lack of sleep, cold food, lack of a shower, the cold nights) make for rewarding memories you will be able to tell your grandchildren about!I'm attending my H.S. reunion on the 6th of June in S.D., so I'm going to get in some "patrol time" with "my buds" then. …you meet the nicest people while patrolling the Border!Semper vigilans,J J

    February 28, 2009 at 04:59

Leave a Reply

